Arizona State Marching Festival Nails

Hello, you get two nail designs for the price of one (which, really isn’t all that exciting because my blog is free, haha)! Anyway tomorrow (or today, depending on where you are when you’re reading this) my college band is performing two exhibition performances for the Arizona State Marching Festival. I am excited for this because it’s like a second band day (I did my nails for this too, which you can see here) and high school students who might never get to see the Pride of Arizona perform live will have the opportunity to see us perform our two awesome shows (Radiohead 2.0 and fun.).

Anyway, enough about my life, it’s time for what you’re really here for, my nails. Ok, so since I am performing at the Arizona State Marching Festival, my inspiration came from the Arizona state flag and music. I actually got the inspiration for my Arizona state flag nails here. I recreated the flag on my left hand. I started by painting my pointer finger, my middle finger, and pinky finger nails with two coats of Pure Ice – Celestial. I painted my thumb and ring nails with Sally Hansen Insta-Dri – Lightening. I allowed all this to dry very well (about two and a half hours). I used a star-shaped hole punch to create three stars in painter’s that would go on my Celestial painted nails. I used the outline of the star in the painter’s tape placed on my nail and painted one coat of Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear – Golden-I to create the gold star. I then carefully removed the painter’s tape stencil from my nail. I repeated this for each of the nails painted Celestial blue. I then cut triangles with very narrow tips to create the sunburst on my thumb and ring fingers. I placed five of the triangles on each of the nails painted with Lightening. I then painted two coats of Pure Ice – Siren on top of my nails. I then carefully removed the tape. I topped it off with a coat of Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat (mixed with some leftover China Glaze Fast Forward Top Coat).

On my right hand the design was much simpler. I started by painting each nail on my right hand with Sally Hansen Nail Growth Miracle – White Tip. I allowed ample time for that to dry as well (again, about two and a half hours). I then used my eighth note shaped hole punch to make five music note stencils in painter’s tape. I then applied the painter’s tape with the music note cut-out on each of my nails. I then used Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure – Midnight in NY to paint over and create the music notes. I then very carefully removed the tape. I finished it with one coat of my mixture of Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat and China Glaze Fast Forward Top Coat.

 

Here are other views of my nails, enjoy!

 

About Rachel (RachBeth Nails)

Nail Polish Addict.

Leave a Reply

